WCRA website promoting Stage and TSD Rally Sport in British Columbia
Mountain Trials Rally
June 15/16, 2007
Merritt, BC
Round 3 of the
Western Canadian Rally Championship

Organized by the
West Coast Rally Association
Merrit Maps
CARS event entry permit
Volunteers sign up form
Results (avail June 16)
Easy Rider - Thank you to Warren Currie at EasyRider for draw prizes for the competitors / workers at Mountain Trials. Canadian Tire - Thank You for the use of a service bay for scrutineering and the use of your lot for the competitor service area during the event.
Neumann Conquers Slippery Roads And Wet Weather
June 18, 2007
MERRITT, BC - Despite a deluge of heavy rain, Aaron Neumann of Vancouver won the Mountain Trials Rally in a two-wheel drive rally car this past weekend. Neumann displayed confidence and car control in keeping his quick, red Honda Civic on the road and ahead of all other competitors at the closely fought race. He and co-driver Graham Coates won six of the event's eight competitive stages, taking the lead at the start and maintaining it throughout the entire rally. They finished with a time of 01:08:12 and a sixty-two second margin of victory over their next nearest competitor.
The heavy rain that fell off and on throughout the day made for extremely slippery driving conditions. Despite the weather, a large field of twenty-one entries and featuring some of the best rally drivers from around British Columbia and Alberta, put on a great show for the volunteers and fans who braved the cool, damp weather at the high elevation Helmer Lake summit spectator area.
Neumann's closest challenger was Calgary's Zbigniew (Zibi) Szewczyk, with Tomasz Karzynski co-driving, in their Mitsubishi Lancer Ralliart. The pair won the last two stages and appeared to be pushing hard to try and catch the leader, but came up just short at the finish with a time of 01:09:14.
Meanwhile, Colin Armstrong was third overall in his Volkswagen Golf, with Ryan Warrington co-driving. The Calgary-based duo put in an impressive performance, keeping their car on the road and moving along quicker than many of the more powerful machines behind them with a time of 01:10:25.
A late challenge by BC native, Mark Jennings-Bates and co-driver Jennifer Daly, ended when their Subaru Impreza left the road on the penultimate competitive section. The pair had been running as high as second overall at the time and fortunately neither were hurt in the incident.
The event was a tremendous success on all fronts thanks to a dedicated team of volunteers who braved the uncharacteristically cool, wet weather.
"We are blessed with a talented group of supporters who come out to help rain or shine," said event coordinator Paul Westwick. "Without their commitment to the sport, rallying would not be possible."
Thanks to support from The Easy Rider, an Edmonton area snowboard shop, competitors and volunteers received much appreciated take away gifts and prizes
Special thanks to all those in Merritt who supported the rally and the Merritt Canadian Tire store for providing parking space for the teams' service pits.
There will be a long break in the racing action from the Western Canadian Rally Championship during the extended summer season. The next event in the championship will be held in October when the Western-based teams return to Merritt, along with visiting National and North American Championship teams, for the Pacific Forest Rally on October 19-20, 2007.
For more information about this event and to view the complete results, check out Results
Overall Results for Mountain Trials Rally 2007
Pos Car Driver CoDriver Vehicle Class Total Time
1 2 Aaron Neumann Graham Coates Honda Civic Gr 2 01:08:12
2 1 Zbigniew Szewczyk Tomasz Karzynski Mitsubishi Lancer Gr 5 01:09:14
3 4 Colin Armstrong Ryan Warrington VW Golf Gr 2 01:10:25
4 6 Eric Grochowski Leanne Junnila VW Golf Gr 2 01:11:44
5 15 Bryan Maplethorpe Brad Bistritz Subaru WRX Open 01:11:51
6 10 Rahul Khanna Keith Morison Subaru Legacy Open 01:11:54
7 14 Piotr Kadlubowski Krystian Ostrowski Mitsubishi Eclipse Gr 5 01:12:33
8 13 Houston Peschl Brad Nurse Volvo 240 Turbo Gr 5 01:15:06
9 11 Ken Maydaniuk Chris Maydaniuk Subaru WRX Sti Open 01:15:43
10 20 Voytek Stywryszko Kate Liniarski Toyota Corolla P 2 01:16:39
11 8 Peter Hill Geoff Hill Toyota Corolla Gr D 01:17:23
12 12 Neil Wright Lorna Wright Mazda RX-7 P 3 01:17:55
13 17 John Breen John Hall Ford Focus P 3 01:18:27
14 21 Johnny Summers Kodi Hutchinson Eagle Talon TSi Open 01:18:30
15 16 Brian Berturelli Robert Black VW Golf P 3 01:21:29
16 3 Mark Jennings-Bates Jennifer Daly Subaru Impreza Open Retired
17 7 Tom Machnik Amy Machnik VW GTI Gr 2 Retired
18 5 Martin Chung Christa Monasch Subaru Impreza Open Retired
19 19 RJ Carroll Michelle Mah Subaru Impreza RS P 4 Retired
20 9 Dave Sharp Kelly Melvin Nissan NX2000 P 3 Retired
21 18 Shane Anderson Mike Dibblee Subaru Impreza Open Retired
The totals in this report include Assigned Penalties and Road Penalties
For more information contact: Paul Westwick - Organizer Ph: (604) 682-3296; e-mail: paul@rallybc.com

Additional Resources:

Canadian Association of Rallysport
West Coast Rally Association
Merritt Chamber of Commerce

2007 BC Rally Supporters:

Easy Rider
Best Western Nicola Inn
Rocket Rally
Driver's Edge Autosport
Wilkinson's Automobilia

All images are © RallyBC.com and the author. Any other use without permission is in violation of copyright laws.
Feel free to view these pictures, or download for personal use only.
Page Design and Content Copyright © West Coast Rally Association